I HAVE RETURNED

I set out creating this blog as a way to make sure that I had a creative outlet I could dedicate my time to each week. I loved it, I love writing, and I love hearing peoples opinions about what I’m writing – BUT THEN I STOPPED!

I know, I’m a terrible person/blogger but I swear it was merely an accident. As what I didn’t realise was that from being proactively creative, I was finding more opportunities arising to create in every area of my life. I am a firm believer in the law of attraction, and so firmly hope that this was the worlds way of saying KEEP GOING, GIRL! START DOING MORE!

So I’d like to fill you in on the crazy goings on from my last month and a half, and what I’ve learnt and discovered, in the hope that I might persuade just one person to say YES to a challenge. By saying yes, you are opening the doors to opportunity and who knows where that may lead!

NUMERO UNO: I moved to London!

For those who don’t know me personally, I’ve been living in the hotel of Madre and Padre for the last year since graduating drama school. It’s been great relaxing at home with Ma and Pa, but it was definitely time to fly the nest! I’ve always longed for my independence and although I didn’t have a job planned, I knew it was time to just take the plunge. I’m a firm believer of being thrown in the deep end; even if you can’t swim, you can usually find a way to stay afloat, and so far I have attended several job interviews, spent more time with friends, discovered new parts of London and couldn’t be happier.

homefront

DOS: I started a production company!

So it wasn’t just one of those things where i went “YEAH I KNOW I’LL JUST START ONE!” but a culmination of a lot of thoughts over the past 6 months. So me and Mr S took the plunge to start our own theatre company to produce work that we would love to see in London. We’ve started with one of Mr S’s own pieces of work (although it is very good!) and are already finding support from lots of lovely theatre-goers. Our first production opens tonight EEEEEK so lets hope it goes well! But even if it doesn’t, I’m glad I have just given it a bash! It’s been a lot of work but I’ve found that keeping busy has opened me up to more opportunities and made me feel more confident in my own work.

DSC_8123 copy

THREE (I don’t know that much Spanish!): I played on stage in Belgium!

I was lucky enough to appear in a production called 14-18 in Belgium and it was a delight! I met so many lovely, wonderful people that restored my faith in the industry. I’d reached a bit of a brick wall with auditions and wasn’t feeling great about myself – and then BOOM! I got this fantastic job and realised that actually, it takes time and patience but if you wait it out YOU WILL get a job that you want. I learnt so much in such a short amount of time, and also discovered a lot about Belgium. Especially the food. And the beer. IF YOU GO TO BELGIUM, GET YOURSELF A DUVEL AND VOL-AU-VENT. Yum.

Now aside from all this fun stuff, I have been working and being boring too. But i just wanted to 1) Update people on my life as I’ve been a hermit recently and 2) prove to people that being patient is worth it! I have so many talented crazy friends that are literally LIVING THE DREAM that I had moments of feeling not good enough. But actually, if you go out there and take the opportunities that are presented to you, you will find that the good stuff comes straight to you! So my lovely readers and friends, START SAYING YES (Although not Jim Carrey style!) and start enjoying the opportunities that come your way.

AND I PROMISE I WILL START WRITING REGULAR NORMAL INTERESTING BLOG ARTICLES AGAIN NOW THAT I HAVE MY HEAD AROUND EVERYTHING.

Love to you all.

Koko x

Leave a Reply

